As of today, the New FB Privacy setting called "Instant Personalization" goes into effect. The new setting shares your data with non-Facebook websites & it is automatically set to "Enabled". Go to Account>Privacy Settings>Apps & Websites>Instant Personalization>edit settings & uncheck "Enable". BTW If your friends don\'t do this, they will be sharing info about you as well
Thanks for the head up. Going to go do this now!
Had a look, only to find this at the bottom where the check mark is!!!!
\' Note: instant personalisation is not yet available for you \'
I think they have cancelled this proposed this new setting, will check mine tonight
Just done this.
Very snidy
Quote from: BlitzBoy;738853I think they have cancelled this proposed this new setting, will check mine tonight
It was checked on mine, very much unchecked now!
said its not yet available f me
not available for either.
so if i dont want my details to be shared but my friends do, other parties can access my info? Or have i read that wrong?
Off comes my personal info
strange but the box is ticked but grayed out, and underneath it sayd as others have found "Note: instant personalisation is not yet available for you."
So im guessing by default its checked.
It may take some time, but keep checking. By all accounts this was the whole reason behind facebook, to collect data and be used as a marketing tool, hence why its worth so much money!
Quote from: jetpilot;738846As of today, the New FB Privacy setting called "Instant Personalization" goes into effect. The new setting shares your data with non-Facebook websites & it is automatically set to "Enabled". Go to Account>Privacy Settings>Apps & Websites>Instant Personalization>edit settings & uncheck "Enable". BTW If your friends don\'t do this, they will be sharing info about you as well
Can you please post a link to where it says if your friends have this turned on then it shares your info too?
The sites I read would be littered with articles about it if that was the case.
From the ip page:
QuoteThese partner sites (currently limited to Bing, TripAdvisor, Clicker, Rotten Tomatoes, Docs, Pandora, Yelp, and Scribd), can only access the information and content you\'ve already made available to everyone.
Everyone is not \'Friends only\'.
Quote from: probedb;739025Can you please post a link to where it says if your friends have this turned on then it shares your info too?
The sites I read would be littered with articles about it if that was the case.
From the ip page:
Everyone is not \'Friends only\'.
I dont know a lot about it, i am not technical just posting something i was let know of.