Author Topic: hi how hard is it to fit a T2 engine into my S3 ??  (Read 1210 times)

Offline mick choi

  • Major Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 893
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
hi how hard is it to fit a T2 engine into my S3 ??
« on: September 27, 2013, 10:23:24 PM »
as i know some of them had the 13b egi block as std!   cheers mick 07894 707535

Offline captainbizzaro

  • Major Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,595
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
hi how hard is it to fit a T2 engine into my S3 ??
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2013, 10:50:25 PM »
The US got 13B. For a RHD you need,

Donor keg
Gearbox of choice, preferably an S5
Custom Prop
Manifold to push turbo clear of steering box
GSL-SE sump
12AT front cover
Swirl pot and high pressure pump to convert tank to run injection
Intercooler
ECU
Custom exhaust
Custom gearbox mount
Lots of consumables expected with engine transplant
A selection of hammers.

Offline captainbizzaro

  • Major Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,595
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
hi how hard is it to fit a T2 engine into my S3 ??
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2013, 08:03:43 PM »
Ever feel like you\'re talking to yourself on here?

Try

http://www.rx7fb.com

The thinking mans forum.:WaveBye

Offline KiwiDave

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • London
    • View Profile
hi how hard is it to fit a T2 engine into my S3 ??
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2013, 08:47:10 PM »
Quote from: captainbizzaro;865521
Ever feel like you\'re talking to yourself on here?
 
Try
 
www.rx7fb.com
 
The thinking mans forum.:WaveBye

 
Seriously Mick, T2 motor into a FB is a big question with bigger answers. Get yourself over to
www.re7fb.com
introduce yourself and you\'ll find some answers.
And could you post up some pics of your FB while it still resembles a TWR edition? Sounds like you have bigger plans for the future.
1985 Series 3 TWR

Offline KiwiDave

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • London
    • View Profile
hi how hard is it to fit a T2 engine into my S3 ??
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2013, 10:22:22 PM »
Quote from: KiwiDave;865528
Seriously Mick, T2 motor into a FB is a big question with bigger answers. Get yourself over to
www.re7fb.com
introduce yourself and you\'ll find some answers.
And could you post up some pics of your FB while it still resembles a TWR edition? Sounds like you have bigger plans for the future.

www.rx7fb.com obviously LOL
1985 Series 3 TWR

Offline Mazdarotaryparts

  • MRC Supporting Advertiser
  • Major Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 835
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
    • http://mazdarotaryparts.com
hi how hard is it to fit a T2 engine into my S3 ??
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2013, 11:01:10 PM »
Sorry Mick only just spotted this question,

In addition to the above this may help,

Racing Beat\'s extremely popular Front Engine Mount allows any 1974-85 13B engine to be installed into any 1979-85 12A RX-7 chassis. (The stock Mazda front engine mount from a 1984-85 13B GSL-SE engine cannot be used as an alternative due to differences in the design of the GSL-SE chassis front cross member.) When the Racing Beat engine mount is used in conjunction with the 1984-85 GSL-SE 13B engine using any 1974-85 13B Engine RX-7 oil pan, this laser-cut stainless steel mount greatly simplifies installation.

A Racing Beat manifold would also help.
REgards
Clive

Mazdarotaryparts
Racingbeateurope
Racecarbattery
shyauto

We aim to help and assist our customers make the right choices for their Mazda Rotary or MX-5  whether they be standard or modified. If you need further assistance with your inquiry, please do not hesitate to contact us:-
sales@mazdarotaryparts.com T:- 44 (0) 1474 361 800
sales@racingbeateurope.com T:- 44 (0) 1474 777 800
sales@shyauto.com             T:- 44 (0) 1474 771 800

Offline mick choi

  • Major Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 893
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
hi how hard is it to fit a T2 engine into my S3 ??
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2013, 08:27:52 PM »
hi clive will this brace fit a  S5  T2 13bt???  cheers mick

Offline Mazdarotaryparts

  • MRC Supporting Advertiser
  • Major Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 835
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
    • http://mazdarotaryparts.com
hi how hard is it to fit a T2 engine into my S3 ??
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2013, 10:09:28 PM »
Racing Beat have just told me that if you use an early 13B sump with the 12A  front cover it will let the TII bolt straight in by using the RB mounting brace.
REgards
Clive

Mazdarotaryparts
Racingbeateurope
Racecarbattery
shyauto

We aim to help and assist our customers make the right choices for their Mazda Rotary or MX-5  whether they be standard or modified. If you need further assistance with your inquiry, please do not hesitate to contact us:-
sales@mazdarotaryparts.com T:- 44 (0) 1474 361 800
sales@racingbeateurope.com T:- 44 (0) 1474 777 800
sales@shyauto.com             T:- 44 (0) 1474 771 800

Offline captainbizzaro

  • Major Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,595
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
hi how hard is it to fit a T2 engine into my S3 ??
« Reply #8 on: October 19, 2013, 09:58:40 AM »
Whats the point of using the RB brace if you\'re using a 12AT front cover anyway? Just use a stock 12A mount.

Offline shaunwil

  • Extra Special Moderator
  • Global Moderator
  • Major Contributor
  • *****
  • Location: Preston
  • Posts: 6,902
  • Karma: +55/-0
    • View Profile
hi how hard is it to fit a T2 engine into my S3 ??
« Reply #9 on: October 19, 2013, 12:42:37 PM »
Quote from: Mazdarotaryparts;866310
Racing Beat have just told me that if you use an early 13B sump with the 12A  front cover it will let the TII bolt straight in by using the RB mounting brace.


Thats all I did with mine with the EGi engine. I just took a file to the standard mount to slot the hole into the right position. I still have the GSLE sump in the shed that can be forsale if you go for it, probably for £50+p&p.

Hardest bit with the turbo is the position of the steering box, makes turbo placement harder.

Shaun
1994 White FD with A-spec GT3574R - 358bhp at the hubs at 0.9bar :3gears-lh
2003 Mondeo 2lt 130ps Diesel Estate Daily :driving

Offline mick choi

  • Major Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 893
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
hi how hard is it to fit a T2 engine into my S3 ??
« Reply #10 on: October 19, 2013, 11:54:04 PM »
Quote from: shaunwil;866321
Thats all I did with mine with the EGi engine. I just took a file to the standard mount to slot the hole into the right position. I still have the GSLE sump in the shed that can be forsale if you go for it, probably for £50+p&p.
 
Hardest bit with the turbo is the position of the steering box, makes turbo placement harder.
 
Shaun
hi shaun im a bit confused! what was ur fb set up????  cheers mick

Offline shaunwil

  • Extra Special Moderator
  • Global Moderator
  • Major Contributor
  • *****
  • Location: Preston
  • Posts: 6,902
  • Karma: +55/-0
    • View Profile
hi how hard is it to fit a T2 engine into my S3 ??
« Reply #11 on: October 20, 2013, 10:09:33 AM »
My fb had a 6 port 13b NA engine for about 4yrs.

Shaun
1994 White FD with A-spec GT3574R - 358bhp at the hubs at 0.9bar :3gears-lh
2003 Mondeo 2lt 130ps Diesel Estate Daily :driving

Offline mick choi

  • Major Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 893
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
hi how hard is it to fit a T2 engine into my S3 ??
« Reply #12 on: October 20, 2013, 02:05:55 PM »
Quote from: mick choi;866341
hi shaun im a bit confused! what was ur fb set up????  cheers mick


Hi Shaun if I buy ur sump & fit it to a TII then modify the std mounts like u did then it should fit ??   Ps.   Which gear box did u use & did u have shorten the prop shaft ?? Cheers mick

Offline shaunwil

  • Extra Special Moderator
  • Global Moderator
  • Major Contributor
  • *****
  • Location: Preston
  • Posts: 6,902
  • Karma: +55/-0
    • View Profile
hi how hard is it to fit a T2 engine into my S3 ??
« Reply #13 on: October 20, 2013, 03:01:08 PM »
You need to use a 12a cover and modify (or buy the Racing beat) engine mount. You also need to weld a oil return line somewhere in the cover.

I have a S4 gearbox with a S3 tailstock in the shed that enabled me to use the original Propshaft and not modify the gearbox pickup in the car and use the FB starter motor. This was on a S3 FB. Not sure what clutch and flywheel you would need with a TII engine though, I used a 13b EGI one, but it matched my engine.

Have a rummage on rx7club.com for more info, there is lots in the 1st gen section.

Shaun
1994 White FD with A-spec GT3574R - 358bhp at the hubs at 0.9bar :3gears-lh
2003 Mondeo 2lt 130ps Diesel Estate Daily :driving

Offline shaunwil

  • Extra Special Moderator
  • Global Moderator
  • Major Contributor
  • *****
  • Location: Preston
  • Posts: 6,902
  • Karma: +55/-0
    • View Profile
hi how hard is it to fit a T2 engine into my S3 ??
« Reply #14 on: October 20, 2013, 03:03:04 PM »
I do have the gearbox in the shed too, would probably look for £100+p&p, but it would be difficult to post due to size and weight.

Shaun
1994 White FD with A-spec GT3574R - 358bhp at the hubs at 0.9bar :3gears-lh
2003 Mondeo 2lt 130ps Diesel Estate Daily :driving